“Do you have a happy place to go to when you are feeling down?” Someone asked me years ago, when I was freshly graduating from college and overwhelmed by the anxiety of what I am going to do next with my life.  “Where is your happy place? Said L who was my mentor, “every one should have a happy place.”   I didn’t understand her question first and I thought she was talking about this fantasy island or exotic place we all plan to go to one day, a boat trip or a safari.  I thought she wanted me to imagine myself in a fairy tale and pretend that I am happy in a safe haven, but this is not what she meant.  In fact I never knew what she really meant but since then I am trying to find this happy place for me and how to get there when the “going gets tough.”

I was one day caught in a very awkward position in a meeting at work, a pretty bad situation.  I found myself about to start crying and this was the last thing I wanted to do in front of my colleagues and boss.  I decided to hide my feeling, which is pretty hard for me to do usually, and to pretend that I am not affected.  My instinct told me: “go to a happy place” , it was the only strategy to keep a good face and stay calm throughout the meeting.  At this moment I had no choice but to find this happy place right away and to escape mentally.  I was not prepared, I never thought about my happy place before and I had to come up with one, so I tried to think about the happiest feeling I had lately and what provoked it… and I found it! It was not an exotic place nor Paris (lol) it had only to do with a situation that makes me feel overjoyed, it was… (well I am not going to tell you and share on the internet my happy place.  Did you really think that I was going to tell you? Ha!) anyway my happy place is how I feel every time I am in this particular situation…

I know that “happy places” are for some people the way they feel every time they hear from a loved one, like for my husband when he hears from his daughter.  It can also be an email or this red number on the inbox in your Facebook page telling you that there is a private message waiting for you.  A happy place can also be sharing a smile with someone you love,  seeing your family or friends at the airport…

One person once said “we remember people not for what they did to us but for how they made us feel about ourselves”, and I think it is true, this is the first thing that comes to my mind when I try to remember someone; how they made me feel about myself.  We are rarely objective when we describe people, we only see them the way they make us feel about ourselves.

“What is your happy place?” Try to find it, it may be easier than you think and within your reach.