It is 5:00 a.m. in the morning, I still cannot fall asleep.  The AC is blasting over my head; I am cold despite the 100 Fahrenheit outside.

It is getting close to 6:00 a.m. I can hear the call for prayer… yes that is right, I am here now, it is going to be home for 2 years.

8:00 a.m. Jim went to work, I am at home, staring from the window.  The street in front of our house is sandy, it has never been paved, like most of the streets here.

The sun has a strange color, kind of pale and washed off.  Few dusty palm trees are standing around the houses.

I always admired palm trees, they strive on heat and dryness and they produce the sweetest fruit: dates.  I decided to eat dates everyday, I have to get this powerful fruit in my system, probably this will be the key to surviving the dryness of this place.

10:00 a.m. Mira is taking me to the local market today.  I am going to wear my long sleeves shirt and the long skirt I wisely purchased from H&M before getting here.  However I will skip putting a scarf on my head, it is too darn hot after all.

13:00 p.m. market is packed… the produce are not too bad, it is kind of a Farmer’s Market; only local seasonal fruits and vegetables are sold here.  I got tomatoes, potatoes, cucumbers, mango and oranges for less than $10.

I had to be quick, act quickly and leave quickly … I should have worn this scarf on my head after all.

15:00 p.m. I am happy to be back home.  I have sand in my hair, on my skirt, and my shoes are filled with this gold dust, as if I was playing in a sand box all day.

I get in the shower…water is too hot… it is boiling…I must have turned the hot water on…NO! Wait a minutes, both hot and cold water are boiling!!! My skin is burning, I cannot take it anymore.  I get out of the shower with soap in my hair and on my skin….

I want to cry knowing that tomorrow I have to go through this day all over again…

6:00 p.m. I am snacking on the vegetables and the fruits I got from the market this morning… they are delicious, I am happy and I smile for the first time.

Tomorrow I will take my shower early in the morning, when the water temperature will only be 80F.   First milestone; to know when to take a shower!

A big hi and lots of love from here🙂 to you Charlie, Holly, Gwen, Richard, Debra, Alicia, Neyla, Jade…I miss you my friends, and I promise to catch up on your news soon.