Tags

, ,


After blogging about my training for the last few weeks, yesterday I finished the Cherry Blossom 5k in 33:38 minute. I was ranked 16 out of 88 women in my age category (40 to 45.)   [tweetmeme source=”mirellamcc” only_single=false] My joy is indescribable.

Few years ago I would have never imagined that I would be running a 5K for the first time in my life at 43.

I only started running one year ago, and only 5 months ago I started doing other form of exercise, like Yoga, BodyPump and Pilates.

I know it sound pathetic, making a big deal out of running only 3 miles in half an hour, but for me it means a lot.

If you are young and in shape, you will not understand what am talking about, but when you will hit 40, things will not be the same.

For me, things went down hill pretty quickly.  At 40 I was already feeling old, and not being able to have children didn’t make it easier for me.

It is true that I could never be a Benjamin Button case, or be like this character in Stephen King’s Golden Years, growing younger as I grow older, but I can control one thing, (at least for now); building more muscles and endurance, to slow down the aging factor, for as long as I can.

Yesterday for the first time, I felt like I did.  I beat the clock, I made the time stop running for me.

Let see how far, backward, I can still make it.

Life is smiling at me today:)

Here are some of the pictures that I took before and after the race.

I owe the pictures to my husband, who carried my iPhone in his pocket during the race.

I guess, baby, this is why you finished 4 minutes later?  Or because you had to have your cigarette in the middle of the race? (I am teasing you:)

I Love you sweetheart!

Excellent, related posts about feeling that we are getting old and doing something about it:

1- New years resolutions and commitment

2- Clarity is Priceless