Tags

, , ,


[tweetmeme source=”mirellamcc” only_single=false]

Overall Run trail, beautiful falls!

Last Saturday, Jim and I went hiking in Shenandoah.  It was freezing in the morning, almost 30 F, but around 3:00pm the temperature reached 75F.

We took the Overall Run Trail, which is extremely strenuous.  We hiked 9.62 miles in 7 hours.  I know it is a long time to finish 9 miles but not when you are doing a steep descent along the cascade, followed by a steep ascent.  The cascades were beautiful and the river was high because of the snowmelts.  We had to cross many times the river, which means crawling on trees, thrown in the river, or jump from one rock to another.  It was exhausting and extremely challenging.  I am still sore even after 3 days.  This week I couldn’t train for the 5 K or take my exercise group classes (Yoga and Body pump); I can hardly walk to the kitchen to eat:)

But it was a beautiful experience and the first hike of the year.  Cannot wait to go back!