Tags

, , , , , , ,


[tweetmeme source=”mirellamcc” only_single=false]

This year to celebrate my first year of exercising (yes my first year) I decided to run a marathon.  Hold on, let me explain the first part, and correct the second part:

When I turned 40, I suddenly noticed that all the cupcakes and cookies I have been eating were showing on my hips, belly and arms.  Diet and starvation didn’t really help, so I decided to start exercising, mainly inspired by watching the Biggest Loser on the couch.

Anyway, so I started exercising a year ago (if you are doing the math about my age, well don’t, because I am not just 41. Sometimes I have problems doing the math).

When I decided to run a marathon I had no idea what a marathon was.  But when I saw that obese people were doing it after few months on the Biggest Loser’s ranch, I said: “why not me?”.

After I did the math (again), and count the miles (in fact I asked my husband about it, who is way better than me in math, as you can see), my husband suggested that I do the 5K, which is 3.1 miles, (a marathon is 26 miles or 42.1 kilometers, just in case you didn’t have a clue like me!)

It was devastating news, because I have never ran more than 2.5 miles on the treadmill with 4.5/hour speed (I know, it is pathetic).  So I decided to follow a serious training, by running faster and reading Runner’s magazine, while eating cookies on the couch (I need it for recovery).

I am hoping to be ready for the 5K before the race day on April 11, because  my goal is to finish my 5 K with a decent time frame (not pulled by a car).

Today I decided, in order to stay motivated and focused, I am going to write every week a post about my progress.

To tell you a little bit about the race; it is the Washington D.C. Cherry Blossom Ten Mile Run, also called Credit Union Cherry Blossom Run.

My 5k run is a Run/ Walk, which means that people can walk it too.

Yesterday I had an epiphany while I was reading more about my 5K, on the Cherry Blossom website;  I found out that dogs and baby strollers are not accepted.  This is when I realized that my 5K is a joke, I mean, if people will try to walk with their dogs and babies…  But on the other hand it means that I can run it/walk it, with…my big fat ass.

Wish me luck guys,

I am going to keep you posted,

and I will try to stay away from donuts.

Related topic: Yoga, Pilates and bodypump, the impact on runner’s efficiency. Part Two of the DC Cherry Blossom run