What the picture tells us is that in 1970 photos were in black and white;

What the picture doesn’t tell us is that my dress was in fact pink.

What the picture tells us is that in 1970 my family was made of four members;

What the picture doesn’t tell us is that my younger sister was still in the oven.

What the picture tells us is that my mom and my dad were smiling

while my brother and I were making faces;

What the picture doesn’t tell us is that we were chewing the candies my mom gave us to stand still for the picture.

What the picture tells us is that in 1970 short skirts and leggings were in fashion;

What the picture doesn’t tell us is that in 2010 short skirts and leggings will still be in fashion.

What the picture tells us is that even in 1970 our windows were protected with fences;

What the picture doesn’t tell us is that five years after no fences could protect us from war.

What the picture tells us is that my dad was holding my hand;

What the picture doesn’t tell us is how powerful it felt to hold my dad’s hand.

What the picture tells us is that our skin color was neither white nor black;

What the picture doesn’t tell us is that we carry both colors in our inner selves.